It was God and faith

I still marvel. I smile with a profound joy at the thought of how I met this Lutheran pastor in Virginia. I believe this has got to do with the fervent prayers of my family and friends back home in Papua New Guinea. For my dad as a Lutheran and a Markham man, it would mean God’s favour and grace.

I remember well that day in 2023. The intense pace at which my first semester was going had a toll on my mental health. I was stressed out and I decided to take a day off from my school work.

At the same time I learned that James Madison University International Student and Scholar Services had an event planned for that Saturday. It was an opportunity to leverage for my part.

So I woke up very early in the morning,poured a cup of coffee and walked to school to meet other international students. I was told it was the annual Dayton Day autumn celebration where the small quaint town of Dayton played host to about 200 vendors with tents and booth set up for arts and craft exhibition with 30 food trucks and entertainment planned for the event.

The van took about six minutes to reach Dayton. There was a lot to see, eat, buy and enjoy too.

I was looking at jewelries and stopped to admire pot plants that were on sale when my eyes caught a symbol. It was Luther rose. The Luther rose or Luther seal is a widely recognised symbol for Lutheranism. According to literature, the rose is fixed in a sky-blue field, symbolising that such joy in the spirit and faith is a beginning of the heavenly joy.

The image brought me back to the village where I would normally see the symbol in church and at times during bible camps. For a moment, I felt a sense of belonging.

I felt the need to buy a hot chocolate drink. It was my way to start a conversation. While the women were busy serving people, Pastor Schulz greeted me and briefly asked about my country of origin. Unbelievable! When I mentioned PNG, that was it,full stop. He introduced himself and told me about how proud, he and his brother Jim are to have been born and raised in Madang and those lovely memories they still hold dear to their hearts.

That was the best day of my life in Virginia. I finally met people who shared a mutual interest and understanding to my roots. I feel like they would understand me better coming from a rich cultural background. Instantly we connected. I knew it was the beginning of a great fellowship and friendship.

Reverend Theodore Schulz was born in Madang in Papua New Guinea. His parents were the late American Lutheran missionary, Reverend Paul Schulz and Carrie Schulz who were called to serve on the mission field from 1946-1970. The family have a strong connection to the church they had served during their times in the country.

Not only did the Schulz family left great memories and legacy behind,the church where Ps Schulz currently serve have items that continue to tell the PNG story. There were bilums, a cloth made of tree bark and literature in Tok Pisin.

Interestingly Ps Shulz and his brother Jim could speak well Tok Pisin too.

Ever since then Reverend Schulz, his wife Olga and his family together with his younger brother Jim and wife Karen have been very supportive of my time here. I am incredibly grateful for the love and support they continue to give and show me to make my time here memorable.

Ps Shulz told me he made sure to welcome any Papua New Guinean who were passing through the commonwealth. He told a story of Zebedy Bahude who was on a mission travel and had a wonderful time meeting as well.

My time here has helped me to grow in so many ways. Meeting Ps Shulz and his family has also strengthened my faith in God as I continue to navigate this journey with grace and fortitude.

Pastor Schulz made sure I find a work and life balance by playing soccer for fun on a co-ed team with his son, Josiah. This has helped me to manage stress and meet new people outside of the classroom environment.

Interestingly, during my recent travel to Seattle I met Jim’s daughter, Ashley who also talked about her father’s love for PNG and how they much it meant to their family.

It is amazing how God works. You can never go wrong when you trust Him and seek Him.

Leave a comment